More

    YOU WANNA BE THERE BUT YOU AREN’T ALLOWED TO TRAVEL

    Date:

    By Derek Green

    Years ago I discovered an infinitely suave singer songwriter named Dave Graney, and was enjoying his album ‘The Soft ’n’ Sexy Sound’ so much that I was prompted to investigate his back-ography, as you do, and noticed he had an album called ‘You Wanna Be There But You Don’t Wanna Travel.’

    I never listened to the album, but as a travel writer, this quirky title stuck in my head for later use, and resurfaced recently as I started to think of a travel article idea for this edition which might be appropriate, given we can’t actually go anywhere. I recently bought a 360° camera for a project which has just sat on my filing cabinet at home gathering dust, but while we’re waiting for this all to blow over I did some research on how people have used these devices, hoping for a few tips. What I did uncover was the wonderful world of virtual tours – produced with 360° images, 3D models, and video – all possible to participate in without having to leave your bedroom. I’ve compiled my favourites here for you to explore and enjoy.


    Normandy, France

    Mont St Michel

    This fortified castle just off the coast of Normandy in France is a sight to behold. There are two options, a VR tour and an educational 3D model which explains some of the history of the island and it’s buildings.

    VR: 360cities.net/image/mont-saint-michel-france
    3D: historyview.org/library/mont-saint-michel


    Uttar Pradesh, India

    Taj Mahal

    Another place high on my “go to” list, explore both the interior and the grounds of this opulent palace.

    taj-mahal.net/newtaj


    New York City, USA

    High Line Park

    A decommissioned elevated railway which runs for 2.33 kms along the Chelsea neighbourhood, punctuated by art, gardens and views of the city and river.

    thehighline.org


    Peru

    Machu Picchu

    No need to bust a lung hiking for four days at high altitude through the Andes. You can explore the Incan Empire’s greatest achievement with just one finger.

    youvisit.com/tour/machupicchu


    Liguria, Italy

    Cinque Terre

    Spend 10 minutes soaking up this fabulous collection of villages, trails and ledges as you wander past vineyards, cafes and fishing boats.

    youtube.com/watch?v=BY00JdDJiyM.


    Jordan

    The Lost City of Petra

    This tour of the ‘The Ancient Rose City’ takes you into all the nooks an crannies, allowing you to pause the clip and look around before you move on from each scene. Switch to full screen for the full experience.

    youtube.com/watch?v=SAUI1-D6tgs


    Norway

    The Flåm Railway

    Rated one of the world’s great train journeys, this 40 minute, 20km journey between Mydral and Flåm passes waterfalls and 500 year old churches as a 360° video trip of a lifetime. A lovely, flighty soundtrack accompanies the journey.

    youtu.be/wv23f_k8CnI.


    Yucatán Peninsula, Mexico

    Kohunlich Mayan Ruins

    A trip to Yucatán Peninsula typically involves sun, sand and surf, but a few hours either west or south can deliver you into the jungle, wandering around all that remains of the Mayan Empire. Kohunlich has a reputation as being the best, and now you can see it without the bumpy 5 hour drive from your poolside.

    youvisit.com/tour/kohunlich


    Bimini, Bahamas

    Swimming with Sharks

    Ever wanted to come face to face with a school of sharks? Me either, but this interactive, 360° video makes it possible.

    youtube.com/watch?v=rG4jSz_2HDY


    Florida USA

    Disneyland

    All the Disney rides in 360 video, including my favourite, Big Thunder Mountain Railroad – queues and all!

    bit.ly/2KSabVg


    London, United Kingdom

    Buckingham Palace

    Skip from room to majestic room in a world that was for many years hidden from public view. Don’t trip over the corgis!

    royal.uk/virtual-tours-buckingham-palace


    Xi’an, China

    Terracotta Army

    Get up close and personal with the armies of China’s first Emperor, Qin Shi Huang. The load time is worth the wait.

    bit.ly/2WhOJyd 


    ORBIT AROUND EARTH

    International Space Station

    The only way any of us are ever going to get a space tour!

    go.nasa.gov/35oVwdA

    Derek Green
    Derek Greenhttps://theescapegoat.com
    I'd rather die wandering than die wondering. Read more of my travel escapades at: theescapegoat.com

    3 COMMENTS

    1. Additions:
      ________________________________________
      Destinations:
      The Great Wall Of China(thechinaguide.com)
      AirPano(airpano.com)
      Yellowstone National Park(nps.gov)
      Street Art with Google(streetart.withgoogle.com)
      Walt Disney Parks(disneyparks.disney.go.com)
      Legoland(legoland.dk)
      The Google Art Project(artsandculture.google.com)
      Aurora Borealis – Northern Lights(explore.org)
      ________________________________________
      Museums:
      Louvre Museum Paris(louvre.fr)
      Smithsonian National Museum(naturalhistory.si.edu)
      ExoPlanets Nasa(exoplanets.nasa.gov)
      National Zoo, Washington DC(nationalzoo.si.edu)
      Glenn Research Centre – NASA(nasa.gov)
      Uffizi Gallery, Florence, Italy(artsandculture.google.com)
      Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam, Netherlands(artsandculture.google.com)
      National Gallery Of Arts, Washington DC(nga.gov)
      Salvatore Dali Museum, Figueres, Spain(salvador-dali.org)
      Museum Of London Docklands(museumoflondon.org.uk)
      National Gallery, London(nationalgallery.org.uk)
      British Museum, London(britishmuseum.withgoogle.com)
      Natural History Museum, London(artsandculture.google.com)
      Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam, Netherlands(artsandculture.google.com)
      The J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles, United States(artsandculture.google.com)
      Musei Vaticani, Vatican City(museivaticani.va)
      Tate Britain, London(tate.org.uk)
      Met Museum, New York(metmuseum.org)
      MASP, Sao Paolo, Brazil(masp.org.br)
      Guggenheim, Bilbao, Spain(guggenheim-bilbao.eus)
      Musée d’Orsay, Paris(m.musee-orsay.fr)
      Picasso Museum, Barcelona(bcn.cat)
      Virginia Living Museum(thevlm.org)
      Hermitage Museum, St Petersburg, Russia(youtube.com)
      Yale Centre For British Art(britishart.yale.edu)
      Berliner Philharominker(digitalconcerthall.com)
      Royal Academy Of Arts, London(eyerevolution.co.uk)
      The National Museum of Computing on Bletchley Park(tnmoc.org)
      Langley Research Centre, NASA(oh.larc.nasa.gov)
      Womens History Museum(womenshistory.org)
      National Museum of the United States Air Force(nationalmuseum.af.mil)
      Museum of Flight(museumofflight.org)
      Anne Frank House(annefrank.org)
      Franklin D. Roosevelt Museum(fdrlibraryvirtualtour.org)
      American Battlefield Trust Museum(fdrlibraryvirtualtour.org)
      National Museum of African American History and Culture(nmaahc.si.edu)
      U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum(ushmm.org)
      ________________________________________
      Zoos:
      Hirakawa Zoo, Japan(hirakawazoo.jp)
      Atlanta Zoo(zooatlanta.org)
      Melbourne Zoo(zoo.org.au)
      Cincinnati Zoo(facebook.com)
      San Diego, California, Zoo(zoo.sandiegozoo.org)
      San Diego Zoo Safari Park(sdzsafaripark.org)
      Osaka Zoo(wombat-tv.com)
      Edinburgh Zoo(edinburghzoo.org.uk)
      Memphis Zoo(memphiszoo.org)
      Dublin Zoo(dublinzoo.ie)
      Houston Zoo(houstonzoo.org)
      Wildlife Trust, Cumbria(cumbriawildlifetrust.org.uk)
      Kansas City Zoo(kansascityzoo.org)
      African Animals(explore.org)
      Smithsonian, Washington DC(nationalzoo.si.edu)
      Beekman 1802 Goats(beekman1802.com)
      Goat Milk Stuff(goatmilkstuff.com)
      Folly Farm, Pembrokeshire(folly-farm.co.uk)
      Monterey Bay Aquarium(youtube.com)
      Florida Aquarium(flaquarium.org)
      Georgia Aquariam(georgiaaquarium.org)
      Aquarium of the Pacific(aquariumofpacific.org)
      Seattle Aquarium(seattleaquarium.org)
      Port Phillip Bay Underwater Cam(natureaustralia.org.au)
      Old Friends Animal Sanctuary – Nasville(ofsds.org)
      Warrior Canine Connection(explore.org)
      Channel Islands Bald Eagles(nps.gov)
      International Wolf Centre(wolf.org)

    Your feedback

    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here

     

    Share

    Latest Articles

    Latest edition

    #97 June 2024

    Recent editions

    Subscribe

    Become a supporter

    The Westsider is run on the power of volunteers. Your contribution directly contributes to ensuring we can continue serving and celebrating our community.

    Related articles